Ambiance - A Vanilla(plus) Ambient Lighting Overhaul (by TheMilesO)

z929669

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have been using Ambiance for about 6 months now. It is a great improvement over vanilla. Dungeons, caves, tombs and such are typically darker than with luminosity (including the mcm darker option). The overall effect of the mod is quite subtle as per the author's description. Nothing is mind-blowing it just feels right. Light balance and detection with RAID feel great with medium interiors and those worried about difficulty can always use light. 

For testing/screenshots should the base version be used or the darker interior fog option?

27 minutes ago, Eliian said:

I have been using Ambiance for about 6 months now. It is a great improvement over vanilla. Dungeons, caves, tombs and such are typically darker than with luminosity (including the mcm darker option). The overall effect of the mod is quite subtle as per the author's description. Nothing is mind-blowing it just feels right. Light balance and detection with RAID feel great with medium interiors and those worried about difficulty can always use light. 

For testing/screenshots should the base version be used or the darker interior fog option?

Probably not the darker fogs, but I honestly haven't tried that option. I think Tech mentioned that we shouldn't use it, but IDK for certain. We need to test the lighting color variation too though. Ideally, compares should be against current Step (Luminosity), but whatever you can do is helpful. I still need to set up and test before I can decide on screen compares.

At the time I installed it, about 6 months ago, it wasn't "known" to LOOT and its main plugin would be sorted incorrectly in the middle. Because of the edits it makes, it needs to be very high priority, so very low in the load order, like RWT and ACMoS.