Vivid Landscapes - Dungeons and Ruins

Reianna

Vivid Landscapes - Dungeons and Ruins

"This mod is an overhaul of nordic dungeons and ruins, it adds a set of textures and - more important

- a set of edited meshes enhanced with parallax depth-effect."

I just got into Skyrim modding a week ago so my understanding is limited but from what I gather it's basically another texture upgrade with the highlight of having meshes that use a parallax depth-effect to make them look better. It conflicts with SMIM but the author says the work around is to just not overwrite any of the SMIM meshes and it should play nicely. He's currently contacting the SMIM author for permission to make a SMIM patch.

My main reason for posting this though is to talk about the parallax depth effect as I'm new to this and I'm confused about what the STEP communities opinion on it is. When I searched for discussions about the parallax effect on the forums I got a lot of people saying good things about the mods that use it but none of them were included in version 2.2.6, in fact the 2.2.6 wiki makes only one reference to this with the real ice mod and that is to not use it.

Are there comparability issues? Performance issues? Stability issues? Is it simply subjective as to whether it looks better or not or are we just waiting untill version 2.3 to start using it?

Parallax mapping is something that was added in DirectX 10, but you would need an ENB to get those effects to work with Skyrim since it's DX9. I've never heard of parallax meshes though, I've only ever heard of it being able to augment geometry without recalculating the meshes, so that would be less demand than adding in a thousands of polygons. It would probably be as heavy in VRAM usage as a normal map, but a graphic artist would know more about that.

EDIT: I see now what you meant the meshes have been altered to allow parallax mapping. Sorry, it's still early here.