Happy Little Trees (by T4gtr34um3r)

Mousetick

Discussion topic:
Happy Little Trees by T4gtr34um3r
Wiki Link

Happy Little Trees is a Vanilla Tree Replacer that aims for good visuals while having a very low performance cost. The next feature of this trees are the animations. Because the trees are skinned. No more repeating wobble of branches every 10 seconds. The branches are moving very naturally.

Not suggesting this for inclusion in the guide, as I have zero experience with it, but I'm curious to know what the STEP team thinks of this mod.

I see that it's been recently finalized and @z929669 has been providing LOD resources for DynDoLOD 3. See the forum mod topic for that one.

I'm tempted to give it a try, as I wouldn't mind sacrificing a little visual candy for a little performance boost. More natural animations sound nice too.

Question for Z, that I didn't find in the comments section: are the DynDoLOD 3 resources up to date and ok to use with the mod current version 1.01?

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

While these trees are performance optimized, I think EVT is a bit more performance friendly. These trees look fantastic, and I may run them in my personal setup if I ever play (which I don't really since 2013 ... mostly just loading, testing mods, and website dev for the past 8 years).

The add-on DynDOLOD works fine with 1.0.1, because T4 did not alter any of the full models other than some logs/stumps, most of which have no LOD. I probably created LOD for stumps in the 'quality' file, because I wanted to provide the option, as I don't like to see stumps popping in while testing tree LOD. these won't be generated though in most cases, since they are below the size threshold. A custom rule file is required to generate them, as I have done in Aspens Ablaze add-on.