Stuck at "Performance Tuning, benchmarking step

Hey!

I've been using STEP for many years now and had a few years of pause before coming back to it. I decided to go from scratch after formatting my computer and followed the guide to the letter and installed everything within it. I went the ENB route.

When I arrived to the Performance Tuning part, I followed all instructions but that 3. Launch SkyrimSE (I assume using SKSE) Skyrim simply loads infinitely on the main menu. It's clearly not frozen as the fog stills goes on and the loader moves but it won't ever do anything.

The console is not accessible so I really don't know what to do at this point.

I just want to point out that I had to deviate slightly from the guide because some mods were updated and the guide was not so there were a few mods where it was not possible to follow the guide to the absolute letter.

Thanks for your help!

"Loads indefinitely" ... how long did you wait? It can take as much as three or four minutes to load the ENB shaders for the first time. Your driver software should have a setting to cache shaders, which may help.

Also be sure to check out the suggested enblocal.ini that comes with the Step ENB as an optional. Just rename it. It has

[PERFORMANCE]
SpeedHack=true
ShaderCache=true

I have waited for over 30 minutes (actually did my workout whilst waiting) and did not budge.

I decided to redo the last 3 steps of the guide from scratch by deleting all mods and reinstalling them and it finally worked. I most likely have messed up something at some point but I just don't know what.

Thanks for your quick answer though, really much appreciated!

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...