STEP Guide 2.0 for use with non-AE 1.6xx SSE

joober

So I currently use non-AE, 1.6xx Skyrim Special Edition. I believe this comment left by @easyrider1988 is the correct process for reverting the guide for use with regular SSE. (I had to take a snip of it and attach it; it wouldn't take me back to the source for some reason. It was left on page 2 of Feedback and Bug Reports for v2.00)

I'm currently in the process of doing this, but I also wanted to ask a bit about the STEP Patches and what they aim to accomplish.

What types of conflicts do the STEP Patches resolve that cannot be also done through the various mod patches that solve their own respective conflicts? Is the CR Patch mainly for the CC content found in the new edition, or is there also a large focus on general compatibility and polish that one can't find elsewhere?

This is my first attempt at a large modding setup, and I'm still learning about managing all the nitty gritty stuff like compatibility, so I'd greatly appreciate some clarification here. Thanks so much for your hard work!

image.thumb.png.de201b9cdd20ab97cfb4e4c94efcc9c2.png

First off, if you never backed up your 1.5.97 SSE prior to Nov 11, 2021, this is the process you should use to do so. you should also understand the game versions.

Historically and presently, the Step Patches essentially do three things:

1. Forward changes from the USSEP for plugins from mods we use that fail to do so (these mods change from guide to guide)
  2. Fix plugin issues in mods that we use (mostly for mods that may not be up to current standards as known today)
  3. Resolve conflicts among plugins from mods that we use