Total NooB

Hello all,

I hope this is the correct place to post.  I just picked up Skyrim, Dawnguard and Hearthfire.  This is my first - GASP - Elder Scrolls game.  I've been following Skyrim since it's launch, and finally - now that I'm retiring, (yes I'm an old tymer) and I built myself  a dream rig that can run anything anyone can throw at me with Nvidia surround on 3 ASUS 24" monitors; decided to score Skyrim to see what all the hoopla is about.  

BUT that's not my question.  I was turned onto STEP by a colleague and I like the thought process behind the project.  My question is... yeah you thought this was gonna be a TLDR...

Since I've never played TES before but want the ultimate experience that STEP offers, should I set up my fresh install the STEP before I ever create my first character?

So there you have it STEPers.... I await your replies.   

ps, I've never modded before; however, I am in IT support and I own a web hosting and design company so i'm not techno crippled. That being said, any pointers in the mod installation department would be appreciated.

I definitely recommend getting STEP set up entirely before you begin. Adding (and even worse: removing) mods to current saves can introduce a lot of errors. The PDF should say this, but before you begin make sure to go through the Skyrim Installation Guide so you have a backup and all that. Also, I encourage you to learn how to use either Wrye Bash (more complex, more powerful) or Mod Organizer (simpler, less powerful) to handle your mods and stay away from NMM; it will make the whole maintenance/update process a lot easier.  I also recommend you start the game and run through the introduction sequence (at least up to character creation) after every dozen or so mods, just to make sure everything's still running by the time your finished.