Problem importing Racemenu created head into CK

DiscordOfSound

Question

Hello, I wanted to first say I'm pretty new to modding, at least heavy modding and wanted to start learning how to create an NPC as a follower. I was able to create my own "Hair" which is just leaves and import it into CK just fine, and finally into the game. However, now I am running into another problem that I've tried looking up solutions for. I created the NPC using racemenu and a Custom Races mod which allowed me to apply a custom face and body texture, then shaped the face just right. After that, I exported the head, saved the face as a preset, and used SPF to save the character as a .npc file.

Then, off to Creation kit I went. I followed the tutorials for creating a custom character and importing a custom head, however, when the head is imported, it is a mess and throws up several errors. The neck sits on top of the head and appears mangled. Then, when trying to apply the head while in the Actor tab, I'm left with hair, eyes and teeth, while the face is invisible. I have tried importing the .npc file as well, yet it does not change anything. I've ran the default face through NifMerge, however that does not seem to alter anything either. 

I've also saved the head under the regular nord race instead of the custom nord, yet even that doesn't make a difference. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong as the head appears fine in NifScope. I've even tried importing the head to 3ds Max, and the head appears the same way as it does in CK, with the neck sitting on top of the head. I haven't made any changes to the .nif file other than making the correct texture paths. So I'm a bit stumped. I've considered copying and pasting just the face data in nifscope to a male head to see if there was something missing from the file. 

If anyone is able to help me get over this bump in the road, I'd really appreciate it. 

3 answers to this question