Changing Majestic Mountains (Lightside, Darkside, Main)

Whitestar127

I selected Darkside during the guide installation. But now that I've tested a bit I feel that they are way too dark in some areas, even with ENB. The best example is outside whiterun (south side); they look really really dark there. They look dang good on snowy mountains though. Almost wish there were two versions, one for snowy mountains and one for the rest. But anyway, I want to change from Darkside to "main" (standard) version.

I'm new to the whole DynDOLOD/TexGen/xLodGen thingy. So I'm a bit confused about what exactly I have to run again. Can I get away with only re-running Texgen when changing MM version?

This is what I guess I have to do:

1. Delete the MM mod and re-install it with main version (i.e. not Lightside or Darkside)

2. Delete everything under the Step SkyrimSE - TexGen Output mod folder

3. Run Texgen with the given parameters

4. Copy or move everything from DynDOLOD/TexGen_Output to the now empty Step SkyrimSE - TexGen Output mod folder

Is that correct? Or will I have to run xLodGen and/or DynDoLOD as well (since the guide states this: "Users should rebuild XLODGen any time a mod is installed or removed that alters the landscape (ground shape and textures). User should rebuild DynDOLOD any time a mod is installed or removed that add, remove, or relocated exterior objects such as buildings, roads, rocks, trees, etc.")?

I'm guessing that since I only touch textures and not any meshes I only have to run Texgen?

On 4/23/2021 at 9:19 AM, Whitestar127 said:

Is that correct?

Mostly correct, but you DO need to run DynDOLOD again. I suggest:

1. Untick the MM Darkside mod, TexGen Output, DynDOLOD Output, and Occlusion mods in MO in case you want to compare with Main later (you don't even need the MM xLODGen file, since it is 100% redundant with the MM DynDOLOD file, which you DO need ... it works for all MM versions)