Before I begin... (advice on modding new SE install without AE/CC content)

I'm probably among the last of the Legendary Edition holdouts, but as my kiddos are approaching the point where Skyrim becomes age-appropriate, I'm considering using SE for their installations.

I'm not remotely interested in any of the Anniversary Edition update content, so I purchased just SE from GOG (currently $7.99!)

My question for the community is around which STEP SE guide should I base my builds on?  Would it be easier to go with v2.0.0 and update individual mods in the guide as appropriate?  Or to follow the latest v2.2.0 guide and make manual adjustments for the "missing" (ugh) CC content?

I'm not a mod author, but I am a programmer and have been working with all the modding tools that we all know and love for years; which is to say that manual conflict resolution doesn't scare me, but I'd rather know up front whether the juice is worth the squeeze.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and opinions.  Donning my flamesuit now!

Don't need a flamesuit here, I think. :angel:

Generally speaking, you picked a relatively bad time for modding Skyrim SE/AE, at least in my opinion. The 1130 update f****d Skyrim sideways, and not all mods in need of an update have been updated yet. Plus, there is supposed to be another patch to fix some of the bugs Bethesda introduced with 1130, but no one knows exactly when that next patch will drop. Doesn't really help to foster confidence in the remaining modders to update their mods when another patch could drop any minute (or in a few months time, nobody knows).

Also, the GoG version is on another release channel, if I recall correctly. I am actually unsure how compatible the STEP guide (or the mods it makes use of) is with the GoG version, as I, like most, own Skyrim on Steam.

Suffice to say that all guides I know of, inculding the STEP guide, are not up-to-date and need revisions to account for the new update Bethesda forced on us.