Is it possible to protect mod folders (in MO2's left pane) from any edits?

As a mod author, I've had an issue when making patches for mods, using MO2.
When editing a mod, MO2 will edit the original mod files in the left pane. In most cases, this is not really an issue, and I can manually copy them in another folder to prevent this.
However, with certain tools/CK functions, it sometimes edits files in mod folders without telling me which ones, which often leads to a lot of extra work having track down any edited files in the mod folders and reinstalling said mod.
Is there a way to set mod folders as "protected" and have all of their potential edits go into overwrite, instead of editing the files within the mods folder, so I can keep my mod folders pristine?

I guess you're referring to files such as scripts, facegen data or voice files? Not that I know of.

FWIW, I use this workaround to "protect" original mod files that are overwritten in-place by tools launched from MO2: I pack the originals into a BSA, and the generated loose files end up in the tool's output folder configured in MO2 (Overwrite by default). This only works for files that can be packed into BSA, though.

Alternatively, you could try to flag the mod folders as readonly in Windows Explorer, but I don't know if this would work well with MO2. It might trigger errors rather than fall back to the output folder. Also setting protection in a different place than MO2 would be confusing in the long run I think.

I guess you're referring to files such as scripts, facegen data or voice files? Not that I know of.

That's unfortunate.

Especially when using tools like Nemesis, it loves to edit existing behavior files and has had me reinstall several mods to recover the original files. I haven't found any other ways to deal with it. It kinda sucks, as without Nemesis, I'm missing out on a lot of mods. But that's probably unavoidable. Hopefully MO2 will at some point have a protected mod folders feature.