Extracting DLC into mods for MO

Bradl3y

Question

So I've just signed up today and this will be my very first post on these forums so I can only hope this imgur link works before posting this.

Alright before we get started a few notes .... I am no expert and I'm looking for help (or rather clarification) on a few topics.

I have read (SOME) of z929669 post labled Ramifications of extracting bsa archives. That post is not only old but it has almost 300 posts spanning over a year. So I will admit that I have not read all of it (yet) and I am aware that the information that I am looking for MIGHT be in that sticky.

With that said

ONE:Why is my HRT (HighResTextures) not overwriting my NEW CLEAN .ESM files after I 'fix them' with TES5EDIT?

TWO: What is the benefit / penalty for extracting the DLC bsa files and forming MODS out of them to ensure that all files are being overwritten and overwriting correctly.

https://imgur.com/gallery/hbXUI

In the above link you'll see a few photos demonstrating the results of the TES5EDIT cleaning process from my perspective.

The first photo shows my left pane mod list and load order. You can see by glancing at the flags that each mod is overwriting and or being overwritten by other mods.

This illustration shows how the vanilla game looks before launching skyrim through skse through the mod organizer before cleaning the mods.

The second photo shows what happens if you follow the STEP wiki instructions when it comes to cleaning your DLC with TES5EDIT.

You will notice the old ESM files have been moved to the TES5EDIT Backup folder (not shown in the picture) but they have been replaced by new CLEAN versions. As far as I know this is how we're all instructed to clean this DLC with TES5EDIT

However ... if you notice there are no flags indicating that files are being overwritten or that they're overwriting each other. This got me thinking about full bsa extraction.