Bashed Patch in Overwrite Folder (clarifications)

TommyH

Question

I'm new to MO but am well versed in modding TES. Before modding SK, I also modded Oblivion extensively. I am very familiar with WB (using it for OB and SK) and made the change to MO for the convenience of maintaining different profiles for different playthroughs.

I'm struggling with the Overwrite folder. After reading this thread and the "Sticky for Creating Mods out of Overwrite folder" thread and the Overwrite chapter in the STEP guide, I think I have a certain understanding, but not really sure if it is the correct one.

I use several Profiles, and I build Bashed Patches (BP) for each of them. Say now I work with "Profile 1". I start WB (from within of MO), build the BP, close WB. Back in MO, I now have the BP twice so to say:

• One BP is in the right hand pane (actual current load list for this profile). This is the BP I just build and this is the correct one to use for this profile now, right? Let's call this the "correct BP" (CBP).
  • And I get a BP inside the Overwrite folder in left hand pane. This one I understand is some "old" BP that I built before, for some other profile?  Or is it the old version of the BP for the current Profile 1? Or could it be both? Regardless, this is DEFINITELY NOT the correct one for the CURRENT profile and load list. Let's call this "Overwrite BP" (OBP).
  • This is probably crucial: If I do NOTHING with the OBP and I start the game, the OBP will override the CBP during game load, right? I will end up playing the Profile 1 game with the wrong BP?
  • If 3.) was true (not sure), then you ALWAYS HAVE TO deal with the OBP in SOME fashion, right?
  • And this would be my most important question for now: If I don't mind the inconvenience of rebuilding the BP every time when switching to a different MO profile, I could just as well DELETE the BP in the Overwrite folder and be done with it, correct?