Occasional CTDs - when to be concerned, and when it's just Skyrim

aaltair

Question

So, yeah, 6 months or so of modding Skyrim and I have yet to play a full game because at the first sign of a CTD I freak out and go through my entire setup, starting all over. Some of the posts I'm reading suggest that no matter what you do, a modded Skyrim is probably going to CTD sometimes. Is there a point where you decide your setup is "good enough" and just proceed playing and don't worry about the occasional random CTD?

4 answers to this question

Depends on the setup. If it's tested tried and true, like a standard STEP extended install, you shouldn't CTD ever.

However if you're adding a ton of extra mods with potential conflicts, editing conflicts in TES5Edit, etc. I wouldn't be surprised to see the occasional CTD.

I am fairly new to modding, but of what I played for STEP Extended 2.2.9.1, I never had a single CTD.

This time around, I'm adding 10 or so mods to the lineup, but none with major conflicts, so I am hoping for the same. But, as it is not a tried and true setup (as a straight STEP install is), I don't expect the same level of stability.

But if I get a CTD more than once every few playing sessions, I will find a way to make them stop, if I have to drop all of the extra mods, lol.

LMAO, truer words are rarely spoken.

Personally, I am still waiting for the v3 update to the Druid's Den player house, which should drop tonight or tomorrow.

It will be the third time for me trying to start up a new game for 2.2.9.2. Each time I get to the point of running dynDOLOD, but before I start the new game I find something else shiny I need to add to this playthrough.

I am forcing myself to stop after this and actually press the "New Game" button. :-P

Edited by Nebulous112