Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Sacralletius

Removing/updating mods and "clean saves"

Question

Hi there

 

I have been wondering about this for a long while and I would like to ask your opinions on this.

I have seen many mod updates in which the author asks to perform a "clean save", meaning the following:

 

1. Save your game on a new slot.

2. Exit the game.

3. Uninstall the mod in your load order.

4. Load the game on the last save you just made.

5. Save again on a new slot.

6. Exit the game.

7. Install the latest version of the mod.

8. Load the game on the last save you just made.

 

However, when I have done this several times, and I must admit, this has caused me a lot of papyrus log spam and CTDs in the past.

 

I also asked this question on the Bethsoft forums and Arthmoor, the author of the Unofficial patches, recommends heavily against it:

https://forums.bethsoft.com/topic/1484684-updating-scripted-mods-and-papyrus-logs/

He also advices mod authors to adjust their scripts to update automatically, without having to do this "clean save" procedure.

 

I'm very paranoid when it comes to stability and scripts so I decided that when someone asks to make a "clean save" to update a mod, I will do one of the following:

  • Don't update the mod and continue my current playthrough
  • Update the mod but start a new game
It might be an overkill and I don't know if this is really needed, but to be extra safe, I am now taking these precautions.

 

Any thoughts/advice on this?

 

Kind regards

~Sac~

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.