Total NOOB with a ?

Quahogs

Question

About a week ago I didn't have this game, a new pc specifically for this game, nor a clue what a mod was.  So am I in over my head ? Yup.  But I'm blown away by the level of immersion and realism this game offers.   My last RPG attempt before life got in the way was Daggerfall or MOrrowind for goodness sakes.  

I'm totally impressed with level of detail you guys/gals at STEP attack this game.  Even though all of this is above my pay scale I'm going to go thru the STEP process to bring this game up to speed as close as I can get it.  I'm dying to get this thing started but I must resist !  

My very simple question is how does following all of the S.T.E.P s in 2.2.6 differ in downloading an ENB mod or Climates of Tamriel ?   I notice that STEP 2.2.6 does not include those as additional game adj features.    Is STEP an alternative or are ENB and/of Climate mods a possible addition to STEP ?    Thanks guys and sorry for such rudimentary 1st post !  

Q 

14 answers to this question

STEP is a guide to mod your game in a way that will be true to the vanilla (i.e. not modded) game. STEP tells you what mods you should download and install and in what order. It does not include mods that change the actual gameplay - as we want your game to be enhanced but not changed - that's the reason for those kind of mods not being included in the guide.

There is nothing wrong with getting mods that change your game at all, but this is not STEP philosophy :)

At least it is not STEP: Core philosophy. If you want to further change your game to get a "survival" feel into the game, we'll offer that and other things in packs, which can be safely added to the STEP:Core install.

Just to clarify - this is the upcoming new version of the STEP guide - watch this space! :)