I'm new to this. Are my specs good enough to run these mods?

AnomalousBull

Question

I just bought myself a gaming laptop and I would like to know if the following specs will meet the requirements to run at least the Core Mods on Steam (or should I not use Steam?) as well as what is the possible frame rate while running the Core Mods with these specs:

Windows 8 Pro 64 bit

3rd Gen Intel i7-3630QM Processor (2.4GHz, TurboBoost up to 3.4GHz)

2GB NVidia GeForce GT 635M DDR5 Dedicated Graphics

16GB DDR3 RAM (2 Dimm)

1TB 5400rpm Hard Drive (No mSSD Hard Drive acceleration cache)

Screen Resolution 1920x1080

And yes, I know I should have gone with a desktop, but the mobility of the laptop is essential for me.

13 answers to this question

I'd suggest choosing a less demanding option for the optimized DLC which is the first mod listed under Conflicting Graphics. The current recommendation is to for go that mod if you have 2 GB of VRAM, but you could go with 1.5 GB option which still looks great and will demand a bit less from your laptop. There are a few other mods with lower resolution options too that will help smooth out performance, just look for the LQ on the guide.

You might also consider using nvidia inspector to cap your FPS, I put mine at 45 since it's an RPG and I don't need 60 FPS like some twitch shooter.

I understand from a quick Google that the 635M 2Gb is a re-badged 555M 2Gb. That means that according to https://www.uesp.net/wiki/Skyrim:System_Requirements you should be able to play at Medium/High, possibly High. The proviso comment is...

"These cards should be around medium/high settings give or take a little depending on the exact resolution. Some of these cards are showing their age but should still be more than sufficient for Skyrim"

You do have plenty of VRAM on it so I suggest you stick to the STEP Baseline 1024 mods. You certainly shouldn't need to pick Performance but I would steer clear of the Extreme choice and pick Medium for Shadows.