CTD in Solitude area exploration/Solitude area map open with DynDOLOD

ElevenZeroSix

Question

Hello gentlemen. I know this sort of post is exhausting to go through, but I didn't know where else to go.
I recently have had lots of trouble in the Solitude area, I keep getting CTDs either while exploring or once I open the map. It's my first time to explore the region, and I managed to determine that the culprit is DynDOLOD. When deactivated, the game works fine.
I've reinstalled DynDOLOD multiple times, namely using GamerPoets guide as well as an oldReddit guide that only adds one step before the DynDOLOD Resources step and that's to add SSELODGen to the mix.
I'm at my wits end with this and have been exploring forums for the past 48 hours to no avail. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

(for some reason there was no bugreport.txt file in the DynDOLOD folder so I included some CrashLogger logs)

DynDOLOD_SSE_log.txt crash-2022-11-13-14-10-56.log CrashLogger.log

5 answers to this question

Something is going wrong with billboard textures being used directly instead of being put/used on the atlas.

You can see from the crash report at the well documented address SkyrimSE.exe+0D6DDDA and the stack that it lists TEXTURES\terrain\LODGen\Skyrim.esm\TreePineForestSnowL02_0005D2DA.dds
The Crash happens because its resolution is either not power of 2 or a multiple of 4.

It might be used by the object LOD mesh Meshes\Terrain\Tamriel\Objects\Tamriel.4.-48.24.BTO mentioned in the stack. (Rhere most likely will be several more BTO doing this)
It should not be used directly, but on the object LOD atlas, where its resolution doesn't matter. From the provided logs I can not determine why it happens.

Use the legal game version. Do not install DynDOLOD into any game folders.

I suggest to use DynDOLOD 3 Alpha instead. Do not install any third party billboards and let TexGen generate them instead.

20 hours ago, sheson said: