Custom STEP installation

elips

Question

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to modding, but for some reason I got this huge urge to mod Skyrim a few days ago.  I've probably spent 20 hours or so researching and testing the last couple of days.  I may have overlooked this, and it is probably much simpler than I thought, but I have a question regarding a custom STEP installation.  I went through the entire mod anthology and installed all the mods that interest me.  I did so in alphabetical order since that is the way they are listed on the page. I didn't want to completely follow the STEP guide since there were several mods I don't want/need, and I prefer using NMM over Wrye Bash for installation. I knew it wasn't going to be final, it was just a simple way for me to actually acquire the mods.  I know that STEP has a particular order that is needed for mod installation for compatibility and certain textures to be overwritten. I also plan on installing a few extra mods once I finish my STEP installation.  

My question is, now that I have acquired all of the mods, (and installed a few for testing purposes) What is the best way for me to actually re-arrange/install the mods in the appropriate order according to STEP.  Should I just uninstall them all with NMM, and go through them one by one as they are listed on the guide, or is there an easier way?  I'm also curious as to what the best method of installing new mods not included in STEP is without conflicting with existing STEP mods.

I'm sorry for my ignorance, and hopefully someone can help me resolve my issue without too much complication!  I put way too much time into this to start over from scratch!  Thanks!

Edit: I would like to say that I do have Wrye Bash and BOSS. I just don't use Wrye Bash for actually installing the mods because I didn't want to manually download and drag/drop hundreds of zip files.

5 answers to this question

First off, a warning from the new 2.2.1 Guide: