Clarification regarding Core vs. Non-Core STEP Mods

VirtuousParagon

Question

Greetings Everyone,

This is my first time posting to the STEP forums.

Little bit of background: Been playing/modding Skyrim pretty much since release. However I have only ever completed the main quest one time and even though I own all 3 DLC's I have never completed any of them. This is due in large part to my failure to create a stable, modded Skyrim.

System Specs are here: https://wiki.step-project.com/User:VirtuousParagon/SystemSpecs

(if I didn't link that right let me know please)

I'm thinking of installing STEP because I would like a stable game and to be able to mod "more with less" as it were.

My multi-part question is: Should I consider mods that are not "Core" mods but still listed in the STEP Anthology just optional?

Also, STEP 2.2.9.2 was released last November but I was curious why the Core mod list contains many older mods? (circa 2012, 2013 without any updates)

What does the Conflicting Graphics category refer to? The mods within that category conflict with other core mods? If so, which ones and how do you know which to pick?

Sorry for the wall of text. I appreciate any help you can give me.

VirtuousParagon

P.S. I'm currently at work but I can post my LOOT plugin list once I get home.

5 answers to this question

Hi VirtuousParagon, welcome to STEP.

I think you will find the STEP Mandate wiki page relevant.

STEP Core is meant to be a solid base that you can add pretty much anything to. STEP Extended is STEP's main pack, meant to round out the experience.

The STEP Patches (included in the STEP Compilation) require certain mods. As the patches resolve a lot of conflicts, I would suggest including all the mods required. The list can be found in the OP here.

Personally, I run the full STEP Extended mod list (and then some in testing).