A little stuck with DDSOpt'ing (the settings)

DICEROLL

Question

Now it's the point where I actually have to use DDSopt, I just finished using the .batch files and all succeeded. How do I setup my DDSopt to have 1024x1024 textures and 512x512 normals? It's my first time doing this.

A screenshot of what I have right there, I don't even know what are 'normals' :D but I'm taking this suggestion from this thread by Garfink.

Posted Image

And I have no idea about the settings above with 'lossy' or 'lossless' obviously I want all the textures to look as good as possible. Could someone suggest me anything, I kinda don't dare to continue my own, but I want them to be just as described in that thread "1024x1024 textures and 512x512 normals"

I really feel very silly for creating the thread, is this exactly what I'm looking for?

Standard Quality (S1-S3) provides 1Kx1K maximum resolution color map textures and 512x512 maximum resolution normal map textures.

I did not notice this line in the first place, and I thought the settings that were used in that thread were some other custom settings

However I don't understand the difference here: S1: Standard Quality, Ordinary Textures /// S2: Standard Quality, Compressed Normal Maps /// S3: Standard Quality, Uncompressed Textures

8 answers to this question

Ok I'm having serious trouble figuring out how to process the files inside DDSopt, the wiki just says to press 'process' it says nothing about which folder I have to select through the program. I am so confused! I have no idea what these two 'Browse buttons' do one says ".\out" and other one says ".\in", I gave it a try and it started creating a folder inside another folder like 20 times, and I couldn't process any of the images.

Can someone please help me :(

When you run the 2nd batch file, there are three new folders:

Vanilla Textures

Compressed Normal Maps

Uncompressed Textures