Hello. I'm new and I really do need some guidance

Kontankarite

Question

So I've been tinkering around with STEP for a couple of months now and I've been trying to get the best looking Skyrim for what I can possibly accomplish at roughly ~30ish FPS.  I prefer 30ish fps because I actually put a limiter on. Obviously it's because the FPS is so erratic from 60 to 28 to 40 to 53 to all these different numbers that the game feels incredibly unstable and erratic.

But I'm on the market to buy a new GPU or perhaps not...

Basically, I want to run Skyrim with an HD texture overhaul and AT LEAST Sharpshooter's ENB.

Unfortunately, I have no idea what kind of GPU I'd need for such a task.

Currently, I have a Radeon 7870 GHz edition at 2 gig of VRAM.

STEP says that this is exactly what I'd need in order to run Extreme STEP.  But I just don't think that's true.

ENB KILLS THE HELL out of my GPU and there's a lot of features I have to outright turn off just to get it to run decently.

Perhaps I'm tweaking like ****.  Perhaps I'm getting the wrong texture mods suitable for my GPU.  I really have no idea and I could use some advice on what I would need to do in order to accomplish maximum quality from my current GPU without first considering that maybe I do need to get a new GPU.

Help?  And thank you.  I've tried all kinds of stuff and it's just not as pretty as I think it could be nor is it ever really stable enough.

Again, thanks for any advice you can give me. 

9 answers to this question

I actually tried RLO. Something about it just wasn't working right or I couldn't tell much difference between it and regular Skyrim lighting. How can I best describe it? ENB lighting just looks... wetter than what the Skyrim engine can offer... which looks dry.