custom trees billboards not loading in SkyrimVR

glarthirs_body

Question

Hello,

I have a very specific / unique issue that may not find an answer on these forums, so don’t waste too much energy if this problem looks too foreign to you and / or outside of the scope of dyndolod.

I am having an issue with custom LOD billboards not working at all in skyrimvr (SSE), in other words they are missing entirely when you load up the game. However, these same billboards work in oldrim, so I believe the problem is related to custom billboards and SSE.

To preface this, I am a mod author currently in work on a new lands mod with custom trees. These trees have 3D LOD for near LOD, and billboards for far LOD. With me having followed various guides, I was able to successfully install the near (3D) and far (billboard) LOD into oldrim. Ingame for oldrim, everything looks great and works as intended.

I have a VR headset, and I periodically convert my oldrim mod to skyrim special edition to use in skyrimvr.  To try to make the conversion process efficient for mod testing purposes, I do not run DYNDOLOD again specifically for SSE, instead I copy the oldrim DYNDOLOD output files and manually install them in my skyrimvr data directory (I assume this would be much more efficient than installing DYNDOLOD once for oldrim, and then again for skyrimvr). This method of installation is convenient and works great, EXCEPT that in VR, my custom trees billboards do not load at all. The custom 3D LOD near models load finein VR, and the original billboards for vanilla skyrim trees work fine in VR in this worldspace as well… so the problem may just be specifically regarding billboards and custom trees.