Sign in to follow this  
thecrippler2005

Reusing large .bsa/ .esp files instead of re-downloading from STEAM

Question

Okay, first of all: I'm a newbie and I'm sorry if I've posted this in the wrong place. I have a fair amount of experience installing mods on Skyrim (I've used Nexus Mod Manager in the past, but this is not a utility recommended by S.T.E.P.). I'm trying to install S.T.E.P. 2.2.8 and I'm wondering whether I should do a fresh (clean) install by first uninstalling the whole game and starting from scratch. I'd hate to have to do this since downloading Skyrim + Dawnguard + Dragonborn + HearthFires + Hi-res DLC will take forever on my relatively slower internet connection.So to begin with, my question is: can I simply keep the Dawnguard.esm, Dawnguard.bsa, Dragonborn.bsa, Dragonborn.esm, HighResTexturePack01.bsa/.esp, HearthFires.bsa/.esm etc. (see attached screenshot image) that are found in the Skyrim/ Data folder? Meaning: can't I just copy and paste these files into a safe folder, then uninstall and delete the rest of Skyrim, then reinstall Skyrim and just copy back the previously removed files into the Skyrim/ Data folder? Will that work or must I once again download all these updates and expansion packs from STEAM?I assume I'll have further queries once I start trying to get the S.T.E.P. installation done on my computer so I'd like to continue posting further queries under this topic if that's fine.

post-3584-0-92876200-1394822000_thumb.jpg

Edited by thecrippler2005

4 answers to this question

Yes, if you put some original files into Skyrim, including those you mention, and use Steam to refresh your local copy it will see the original files you have and won't download these again.