Using MO for STEP: Core vs Extended, BCFs, BSAs, & SKSE 1.07.00 (w/ mem patch)

tregolani

Question

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the Skyrim modding scene, and wanted to ask a few questions I've run into recently that I don't quite understand.

First:  I've heard some people have different MO profiles for STEP:Core vs. Extended.  How exactly does that work?  Would the profile for Core be all of the Core mods with the Core patch, and then the Extended profile just be everything topped off with the Extended patch, or would it be just the extra mods listed on the Extended Pack page with no extra patch?  I'm still learning, so I haven't quite figured out how to make a profile use another profile as a dependency, and I don't know which is a better way/the appropriate way to set up my mods.

Second:  Is there a major benefit/advantage to using BCF files over just installing the loose files through MO?  I understand that I need to use Wyre Bash to use BCF files....but I'm a bit lost after that.  What all needs to be downloaded for the BCF files to install correctly via MO?

Third: I don't really understand BSA files.  I always let MO extract them, but what is their purpose, and what is the best practice for dealing with them via MO?

Fourth:  According to

(listed on Sheson's post over on enbdev.com), the newest version of SKSE has the memory patch built into it.  However, I'm running into issues as how to install it.  I've tried installing it via the installer provided, but that seems to cause SkyUI 4.1 to run into issues of not being able to find the SKSE scripts.  I've also tried installing it via the STEP detailed instructions, but then I can't seem to find out how to launch Skyrim via SKSE through MO (and SkyUI 4.1 still won't recognize the scripts).  What am I doing wrong?