Controller Support

eecer

Hello,

I am new to using STEP and am looking forward to using this as my starting mod list, but I was wondering how many of the UI and Character creation mods have controller support. I don't want to waste my time with some of the mods if they don't support me running my controller with the game.

Thanks for any help and this is one of the most useful Skyrim mod site's that I have found.

I've used STEP for a long time with a 360 controller. Racemenu, SkyUI, convenient Horses, and just about everything else has integrated controller support or the ability to set it up yourself. The only issue you may run into is Dual Wield Parrying, since you might run out of button for stuff.

I use a 360 controller too, but I also like to use the keyboard sometimes in game.

Get Control Switcher to get the best of both worlds. I often need to use the mouse for aiming with a bow or for sorting by VW in the SkyUI inventory. It uses hot keys to invoke the controllers that you want in game. It does have an annoying midi musical startup that you have to quickly kill though.

If someone could edit that out in VStudio or something, I would be very grateful!

• 3 weeks later...

I use an Xbox 360 controller, and one of the nexus mods (can't advise which as site is down), and it works for pretty much everything. I just now started researching this "Chatpad" thingy, and it seems like it would be great - allowing more hotkeys, and then the occasional console command. However, it is not designed to be used with a PC, and the drivers needed are third party and give me pause. The drivers also only work with a wired controller, and I prefer the wireless.

But having just a little keyboard attached to your controller is just too awesome. Would like to hear if others have tried this, or something similar.

• 5 months later...