Jump to content
  • 0

wrye bash uses mods deactivated as part of merge


WizardMarnok
 Share

Question

Clearly I am misunderstanding something basic about either wrye bash, zmerge, or both.

I have merged some mods using zmerge, activated the merged mod, and the esps which were part of the merge are unticked in MO2.

When I run wrye bash, it adds some of the unticked esps to the bashed patch masters, and reticks them.

What should I be doing to make sure my merges are ready to be bashed, and the 'component' esps are ignored?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

If MA is a master of MC, and you merge MA and MB into MD, MA is still a master of MC, unless you modify MC to have MD as a master and remove MA from its masters.

Does that make sense?

Merging plugins is usually done with "leaf" plugins (e.g. patches), that are at the end of the dependency chain. That is, nothing else uses them as masters. In that case the issue above doesn't arise.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 hour ago, Mousetick said:

If MA is a master of MC, and you merge MA and MB into MD, MA is still a master of MC, unless you modify MC to have MD as a master and remove MA from its masters.

Does that make sense?

Merging plugins is usually done with "leaf" plugins (e.g. patches), that are at the end of the dependency chain. That is, nothing else uses them as masters. In that case the issue above doesn't arise.

Maybe that's what I missed, but I was pretty sure none of my merged plugins were masters to anything outside of the merge - I tested by unticking them and no '!' missing master warnings appeared in the load order. (Also zmerge itself warns if an esp will be unusable after the merge).

Is this the only likely scenario in which the situation could arise? If so perhaps I can check dependancies a bit more intently.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
2 hours ago, WizardMarnok said:

When I run wrye bash, it adds some of the unticked esps to the bashed patch masters, and reticks them.

When you run WB from MO, it should show the list of plugins exactly the same as it is in MO2 - same load order, same enabled/disabled state. Is this not the case? Are you launching WB from MO?

When exactly does WB "retick" the plugins you disabled in MO?

If there are missing or disabled masters, WB warns you before (re)building the Bashed Patch, it doesn't silently "tick" anything.

image.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.