DynDOLOD and Interesting Roads mod

HielkeSkyrim

Question

Heya! I'm relatively new to xLodGen and DynDOLOD so forgive me for not fully understanding the technical details. 

I'm using xLodGen (high settings) for my terrains and DynDOLOD (2k@high) for objects and trees. My LODs look very impressive yet I noticed that not all mods play well. Interesting Roads is one such mod. 

Here is a screenshot of what I'm talking about. The dolmen sticks out like a sore thumb because of it's low blocky textutes.

Please correct me if I'm wrong: In my understanding this mod does not come with high quality billboards to support DynDOLOD, thus DynDOLOD generates the LOD based on the texture of the Dolmen which in this case results in a very low res LOD.  

My question: Is there something I can do to improve this LOD or is it up to the mod author to fix this? 

8 answers to this question

I suggest to not use insane texture resolutions without testing they actually result in a visual improvement and not just waste VRAM because the game never uses the higher resolution mipmaps since they are never required.

From the DynDOLOD manual:
"Billboards are a simple 2D texture representation of trees and an optional text file defining width, height and other parameters used for tree LOD."

Object LOD uses 3D LOD models and object LOD textures. Object LOD models are simplified versions of the full model with less triangles and other optimizations.

DynDOLOD generates object and tree LOD with the assets found int the load order. In particular, object LOD uses the LOD models that are found/matched/defined for objects with the LOD object textures either already installed updated by TexGen from full textures.

Without a second screenshot that shows the full model (and its reference form id) for comparison it is hard to tell what is "wrong" with the LOD.